Welcome to the office of the Menard County Clerk & Recorder. The County Clerk has many roles in Menard County Government. The County Clerk is the keeper of the official seal of the County, Clerk of the County Board, keeper of vital statistics, marriage licenses, assumed names, tax extension, delinquent taxes and the Menard County Election Authority. Here you will find forms and suggestions for obtaining documents that may help in your search for information in Menard County.
The County Clerk also serves as the County Recorder. This website provides information on recording fees and Plat Act Affidavits. We look forward to serving you and hope that this website is a helpful tool.
The Office of the County Clerk is responsible for the extension of property tax. Tax Levies from all taxing bodies in Menard County are filed in our office and are available for viewing.
Delinquent taxes sold in Menard County tax sales must be redeemed in the Office of the County Clerk. It is necessary to call our office to be assured of the exact amount of payment. Payment must be made in cash, certified check or money order.
The procedure for filing a certificate of Assumed Business Name is as follows:
Use the appropriate forms below to change or cancel your Assumed Name:
General Primary March 19, 2024
General Election November 5, 2024
The Office of the County Clerk conducts all elections in Menard County. Menard County has 9,371 registered voters and 14 precincts.
Q: Am I registered to vote?
A: You can check your voter registration status online by visiting the Illinois State Board of Elections at: Registration lookup
You may register to vote in the Office of the County Clerk, with a Deputy Registrar, or when receiving services at the Driver's License Facility. It is necessary to provide two forms of identification when registering. One form must have your current address. You must be at least 18 years of age to register or will attain that age by the next election.
If you are currently registered in Menard County and have moved within the County, you may change your voter registration address by completing the information on the reverse side of your voter identification card and returning it to our office. If you have misplaced your voter identification card, you may call our office at (217) 632-3201 or e-mail to request a transfer of address form to be mailed to you, which you must complete and return no later than 27 days prior to the election. You may go to the Illinois State Board of Elections website to change your address online by clicking here or you may print out a transfer of address form, complete the required information, and return it to our office.
Fill in all of the blanks EXCEPT for voter's signature. Print out the completed form, SIGN and then send back to our office at the address below.
If you are currently registered to vote in Menard County and have moved outside the County, you must re-register with the local election authority in your new County of residence.
A person who changes his or her name must re-register to vote.
Once a citizen is registered to vote, his/her name is remain on the registration roster as long as he/she remains eligible to vote in that election jurisdiction. Removal of a voter's name from the list of registered voters, cancellation of his/her registration, may only be made for the following reasons.
You may call our office at (217) 632-3201 or e-mail to request a cancellation form be mailed to you, or you may also print out a cancellation request, complete the required information, and return it to our office.
1. Request of the Voter: A voter may request in writing that their name be removed from the voter registration file (does not require that a reason be given), or a voter may acknowledge in writing that he/she no longer is a resident of the election jurisdiction. Similarly, an attempt by the voter to register to vote in another election jurisdiction is deemed to be a request to cancel all previous voter registrations.
2. Incarceration: If a voter is incarcerated pursuant to a conviction of a crime, his/her voter registration may be canceled.
3. Falsification of Application/Not Qualified: If the voter is convicted of a crime involving a material falsification of his voter registration in regard to age, citizenship, or residence, his/her registration may be canceled.
4. Death: If the election authority receives proof of the death of a registered voter, this voter's registration may be canceled.
Contact the Menard County Clerk:
Judges of elections are responsible for the administration of election procedures in the polling place on Election Day. They are in the position of ensuring that the election process is administered fairly and in accordance with the law.
Yes, an election authority may establish a program to permit a person who is not entitled to vote to serve as an election judge if the individual meets the following qualifications:
The County Clerk serves as the Recorder of Deeds in Menard County. Records of real estate transactions are recorded in the County Clerk's Office. Real estate recordings date back to 1839.
Document preparation is a specialized task which may demand legal knowledge or advice. The office of the County Clerk is forbidden by law to give legal advice.
Legislators have recently passed HB3878 which increases the Rental Housing Support Fee by an additional $10.00. The increase affects recording fees in all 102 counties throughout the State of Illinois and will take effect July 1st, 2023.
Our current accepted forms of payment for recordings are cash and check only.
The data and document images from June 30, 2006 to present are available online. You are welcome to come to our office and use our free terminal to search information. The Menard County Clerk's Office is open 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday - Friday. If this is not convenient, listed below are options to search Menard County land records via the internet.
Preventing mortgage fraud and identity theft is a top priority of your Menard County Recorder’s office. The Recorder’s office has made a conscious effort to be on the lookout for documents that may involve deed or mortgage related fraud. For your protection, consider subscribing to out “FREE” Property Fraud Alert website for real-time monitoring and notification of any potential fraudulent activity. Your security does matter!
Unfortunately, it is all too easy for a criminal to record a fraudulent deed making it appear as if they now own your home.
Once they have done this, they can use your name as collateral on a mortgage or even attempt to sell your home to an unsuspecting buyer.
DO NOT let this happen to you!
This service will notify you if a document is recorded with your name.
To sign up for this FREE service, go to: https://www.propertyfraudalert.com/ILMenard?
and click on “CONTINUE” to register. Complete the registration form and submit. You will be given the option to be notified by either “Email” or by “Phone”.
If you have any questions regarding this service or are having trouble signing up, please call 217-632-3201 for assistance.
There is no charge for certified copies of the DD214.
Application for Search of Military: Military Discharge - Request Form
(You MUST fill out a request form as required by State Law)
Vital Statistics are birth, death, marriage, and civil union certifications.
**Please Note** Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regard Vital Records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death and marriage certificates. The Menard County Clerk's Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois Law. Vital Records are not considered public information, no are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
Marriage licenses may be obtained from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Office of the County Clerk. The license may be used the following day and expires after sixty (60) days. The couple should be marrying in Menard County. You are no longer required to get blood test when obtaining your marriage license. You must be at least 18 years of age. If you are under the age of 18, both of your parents must be present when getting your license. It is necessary for both parties to come in to the office to fill out and sign the marriage license application. Please visit our portal by clicking here to complete the marriage license application. Your license is not official until you are both sworn in and the license is signed by the Menard County Clerk. Please call the County Clerk's Office at 217-632-3201 to schedule an appointment to obtain your marriage license.
Please contact Judge Atterberry to make an appointment at 217-632-2107.
Marriage License fees are $50.00
Any individuals making an application for a marriage license in the County of Menard must provide identification with the name and date of birth of the applicant.
Civil Union is a legal relationship granted by the State of Illinois. Licenses are issued by the County Clerk and are only valid in the county where it was issued. Licenses may be obtained from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Office of the County Clerk. The license may be used the following day and expires after sixty (60) days. You must be at least 18 years of age and present identification such as a driver's license or state id. Please visit our portal at http://192.168.169.231/ILMenard/Apex.WebPortal/applications to complete the civil union license application. It is necessary for both parties to come in to the office to fill out the civil union license application. Civil ceremonies may be conducted by a person legally authorized to perform civil unions in Illinois.
Please contact Judge Atterberry to make an appointment at 217-632-2107.
To request a copy of a birth certificate, please click here.
Photo ID is required to obtain a birth record (see below for acceptable ID).
Birth records begin in our office at the year of 1877.
Who may obtain a birth record:
To request a copy of a death certificate, please click here.
Photo ID is required to obtain a death record (see below for acceptable ID).
Death records begin in our office at the year 1877.
Applicant should be prepared to show documentation proving their need for the record and/or intended use and valid identification.
To request a copy of a marriage certificate, please click here.
Marriage certificates begin in our office at the year 1839.
To request a copy of a civil union certificate, please click here.
Civil Union Certificates begin in our office at the year 2011.
Genealogy research for birth, death, and marriage certificate records may be conducted in our office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
Birth records begin in our office at the year 1877. Genealogical birth records may be obtained if the record is at least 75 years old.
Death records begin in our office at the year 1877. Genealogical death records must be on file at least 20 years before release.
Marriage records begin in our office at the year 1839. Genealogical marriage records may be obtained if the record is at least 50 years old.
A genealogy search may be made by individuals in our office in accordance with Illinois State Statute, and at no time may the searcher handle the original documents. No searching or assistance with searches will be available on election days in Illinois. Please see the Election information above for dates of upcoming elections.
Please feel free to contact our office at 217-632-3201 for more information regarding Birth, Marriage, or Death Certificates. If you would like to email our office, you may do so at firstname.lastname@example.org and she will respond within 3-5 days.
Liquor License Application *All Liquor Licenses must be approved by the Menard County Board of Commissioners prior to the event. The Board meets the 2nd and last Tuesday of each month.
$3.00 for each page.
Contact the County Clerk for the total owed on your property.
Contact this office and an employee will be available to assist you.
No. The County Clerk no longer issues hunting and fishing licenses. In Menard County, licenses are available at R&H Farm and Home Store in Petersburg and Village Market in Athens.
Certified copies are $11.00 for the first copy and $8.00 for each additional copy.